Board of Education

The role of the Board of Education is to oversee operations of the school district on behalf of the community under the guidance of the State Board of Education. BOE trustees create policies which define how the district is to be operated. The BOE trustees are also responsible for hiring a Superintendent to operate the district per these policies.

Board of Education trustees are members of the community and are elected into office by their peers by holding public elections each November. Trustees serve a four year term. Terms are staggered by holding elections for two seats every year, with the exception of a single seat election every four years. Any vacant seats may be filled by appointing a community member to serve a maximum of one year, or until an election can be held.

All community members 18 years of age or older, a resident of the community for longer than one year, and have a desire to serve their community are encouraged to run for the seat of Board of Education trustee.



Learn more about the role of a school board.

Pamela Dickinson, 
President 

2nd Term (2020)
DickinsonP@comstockps.org

Shirley Amos, 
Vice President

3rd Term (2022)
AmosS@comstockps.org

Karen Howes, 
Secretary

2ndTerm (2022)
HowesK@comstockps.org

Saralyn Brown,
Trustee

1st Term (2022)
BrownS@comstockps.org

Paul Lamphear, 
Trustee, appointed

1st Term (2020)
LamphearP@comstockps.org

Dorinda Scholly, 
Trustee

1st Term (2022)
SchollyD@comstockps.org

Matthew Schreiner,
Trustee

2nd Term (2022)
SchreinerM@comstockps.org

Treasurer*
(Appointed)

Faye Goldner,
Recording Secretary**

(Appointed)
GoldnerF@comstockps.org

*The treasurer also serves as the district's Director of Finance

**Faye Goldner also serves as the Executive Assistant to the Superintendent of Comstock Public Schools